Condura 2010: My First 42!

(A post written by Ems) 

Feb 07, 2010 marks a milestone for me as a runner.  Being able to finish a full marathon was indeed a great experience. Initially, I had the apprehension of registering for the Condura Run 2010 for a full marathon but Eric was convinced that we can do it.

It was also great to see people (even you don’t personally know them) cheering and encouraging you to take that extra mile to be able to reach the finish line. While running we got the chance to chat with fellow runners who are also 1st time to join a full marathon and even exchange jokes that this would be the last…. “di na ma-uulit“.

Our friend, Vener (Rununltd), shared with us that  running side by side has been a tried and tested strategy….and it really helps.  I know Eric can make it before the cut-off time but he decided to stay with me throughout the race. The last 2 kilometers was the longest kilometer ever.  The heat and the pain forces you to quit.  But why stop when you were able to ran the 1st 40 kilometers. Eric pushed me when he knew when I’m tired and gave me the strength to make it to the finishline.

“Pain is temporary. It may last a minute, or an hour, or a day, or a year, but eventually it will subside and something else will take its place. If I quit, however, it lasts forever.” – Lance Armstrong

Another unforgettable experience is that I was able to conquer the Skyway…. Along the route, you would see inspirational quotes. But this is the quotation that I struck me the most:

“The miracle isn’t that I finished. The miracle is that I had the courage to start.”  – John Bingham

We conquered!

I was not able to hit the cut-off time (over of 8 minutes). But there are a LOT of things to be thankful for…. friends to encourage/cheer you to run more, finished the race injury-free and having a husband who is very supportive. Most importantly being grateful to our Creator for the gift of life and strength to continue to believe that there is always hope.

Reaching the Finish Line

While on my way to work, it made me think …. Would this be my 1st and last marathon? I guess for the year …. And I am still open to give it a chance and give my best the next time around.

“Don’t dwell on what went wrong.  Instead, focus on what to do next.  Spend your energies on moving forward toward finding the answer. “  – Denis Waitley

Until the next Marathon!

 

photos courtesy of Edu and Pepsi of Takbo.ph

4 comments

  1. run unltd. · February 10, 2010

    Congratulations to the lovely couple. What an early valentine gift for each other.. Cheers!

    vnr & xty

  2. chefsy · March 20, 2010

    Congratulations to you couple! 🙂 that’s really sweet and oh, I’m inspired by stories from the first marathon of you women.. how do you train? help! I am scared for my life. Haha!

    Congrats and see you on the next races!

    runaholic.wordpress.com

  3. jazzrunner · April 3, 2010

    Ems and Eric,

    I might be mistaken but i remember running with a couple from the first few kilometers up to the skyway and it must be the both of you (?) They were very strong up to the turn-around but didn’t see them much on the way back.

    This is a very touching post! Finishing the race together is something awesome!

    More success to the both of you!:-)

    • runningbeyondair · April 3, 2010

      Hi Sir Rene,

      Nope, you were correct. We were just within striking distance from you before you sped off along the skyway. =)

      We almost made the cut-off of 6hrs but I had a wrong calculation. Thought that coming down from Kalayaan was the last 3kms (at 5:20:00) that even if we walk-jog we’ll make it. It was ~4.5kms pa pala.

      See you!

Leave a comment