From a pacer Dad: Seeing my kids “racing”

In the last two weekends, we have been running together with our kids – Andrea, Patricia, and Karlos.  The first was on the 30th of August when we signed-up the kids for the 3k fun run of the Looney Tunes Active Run and the second was the Woodrose J.O.G – GK Fun Run last Sept 6 (I’ll share with you their running experience on the JOG -GK on a separate blog).  The night before, the kids were so excited!  They were trying to guess who among the Looney Tunes characters will be there – to run with them..

Everybody were so excited that mom and dad did not had a hard time waking them up at 4:45 in the morning. With a single shake and tap, my twin daughters stood up to prepare for the race.  By 5:30am, we’re off to Mall of Asia – the venue of the Looney Tunes Active Run.

We arrived at MOA five (5) minutes before six o’clock.  The gun start for the 3k race was at 7am – too early! The kids enjoyed the warm-up prepared by the organizers.  A couple of minutes later, Bugs Bunny came out!  All the kids were buzy ganging up on him.  By 6:15am, the 5k race started.  Hmmm, it crossed my mind to run as a bandit since the 3k race will not be starting until 7am.  So off I go!

When I came back, I still had time to eat some cereals provided by the partners of the event.  By 7:10am, the gun fired for the 3k race.  I was telling the kids just to enjoy the run – run tall, swing your arms, and keep the pace (do you think I just was just telling them to enjoy the run?).

Patricia (in red) with Ems (Karlos is beside her mom while Andrea was left at the back)

Patricia (in red) with Ems (Karlos is beside her mom while Andrea was left at the back)

My Patricia sped up the 1st 700 meters of the race while my Andrea was behind her by almost 30 meters. 

Patricia - leading her twin sister (at the back) at the 700 meter mark

Patricia - leading her twin sister (at the back) at the 700 meter mark

Though i’m trying to push both of them to run, my Patricia just started to slow down until my Andrea caught up with her.  After the km 1 mark, my Andrea just continued her easy pace.  There was a point where I just told Andrea to run and I will just catch up with her (Patricia was already complaining that she can’t run anymore).

I left Patricia with Ems and Karlos as I tried to chase Andrea who was a hundred meters away already.  She just hesitated to cross an intersection at MOA.  At the water station, Andrea gulped two (2) cups of water to hydrate.  It was also at this point that she was starting to experience side stitches.

Andrea - running thru the 1.5km mark!

Andrea - running thru the 1.5km mark!

We had to take some walk breaks from km. 2 to km. 2.5 due to the side stitches that my Andrea was experiencing.  I just kept on psyching her up by telling her that the first finisher will be treated with a Hot Fudge Sundae by the last finisher (we estimated that Ems, Patricia, and Karlos was 500 meter behind already).  Oh, there was another stumbling block before she taught of running again, the Red Light of Krispy Kreme was on!  She thought that they are not yet giving those free honey glazed donuts since a couple of running families were still outside waiting – thus, she decided to run the last 500 meters (she was even challenged when one of the marshalls told her to sprint up in the last 200 meters and leave me behind).

My Andrea was so exhausted upon crossing the finish line (hey, it was a happy experience for me pacing Andrea until she reached the finish line!).  But she was so happy when she learned that she ran the 3k race in 28 minutes!

Andrea - proud of her 3k PR!

Andrea - proud of her 3k PR!

Ems, Patricia, and Karlos came in after 7 minutes and finished the race  in 35 minutes.  If not for those honey glazed donuts, Karlos and Patricia will still walk the last kilometer.

look at those donuts in their hands! =)

look at those donuts in their hands! =)

7 comments

  1. ian · September 8, 2009

    Great to see everyone in your family running together… i hope i can bring my wife and my 2 boys to join a few run events as well…

    • runningbeyondair · September 10, 2009

      Hi Ian! In time, all of them will be running with you.

  2. ricov · September 8, 2009

    Maganda yung Finisher Shirt. Sana merong adult size for me! Haha….Si Karlos mo, mukhang following in the singlet, err, footsteps, of the father.

  3. timmy · September 9, 2009

    it’s always nice to see families running together 🙂 nice entry too eric & ems 🙂

    see you around! 🙂

    -timmy

    • runningbeyondair · September 10, 2009

      Hi Timmy, thank you for reading (my late entry =P). Yup, it’s really good to see the kids run with their mom and dad. It’s a sacrifice for them since they have to wake up very early on a Sunday morning. See you!

  4. kaku24 · June 11, 2010

    so cute! i also wanna do this with my future family. oh, God Willing. 🙂

    –kaku

  5. kaku24 · June 11, 2010

    so cute! wanna do this with my future family, too. 🙂
    Keep running!

    — Kaku

Leave a Reply

