I enjoyed the view, I enjoyed my run at Greenfield City’s 21k Run

This is our first and definitely not our last!

A wake-up call at 3:00 in the morning!  Something unusual for me since I started to join the weekend road races last year.  3:00am was my wake-up call whenever I need to catch a flight going to Visayas or Mindanao.

Me and Emilee were excited to join our very first half marathon last Sunday, 19 April 2009.  Of course, we were also nervous if we can finish the race injury-free.  After the Airspeed Run, we had a short preparation for this race.  We had a combination of easy jog and power walking for a minimum of 2 hours using a two-day training, one-day rest program.  Then, 3 days before the big day, we took our rest from our “rigid” training.

Can our legs already take the challenge of a long distance run?

Me and Emilee with our 21k Finisher's Medal

Me and Emilee with our 21k Finisher's Medal

Emilee finished ahead of me with her official time of 2 hours and 36 minutes.  It was a strong finish for a first time half marathoner.  On the otherhand, I finished 16 minutes after her at 2 hours and 52 minutes (my official time).

As first timers, it was clear to our minds that we shall be enjoying our first half marathon.  The race started on time at 5:00am.  We positioned ourselves at the back of the pack to give way to the hardcore runners.  At the km#1, my pace was 6:15mins/km.  I was able to maintain that steady pace until after km#3 when we entered Pramana.  At this point, I started to feel the pain in my shins – oh no! not this time.

Going to km#4, I struggled with the pains.  I tried a different foot strike and running form (the ones that I learned from the Nike Running Clinic) thinking that the pain will go away – and it did.  I was able to increase my pace again from km#5 to km#10.  I reached km#10 in 1 hour, 10 minutes (faster than my 10k run PR – considering that I had a “long” stop of 10-15 seconds in 4 hydration and “cooling” stations).

By the way, between km#5 and km#7 I met coach Joar with Ms. Kim.  Afterwhich, I met coach Rio cheering the 21k runners and checking if the race was doing well (that’s a hands-on Race Director!)

The sun was also there to watch us run.  Every runner can already feel the increase in the temperature at the km#10 – km#21.  I still find the ambient temperature okay since the winds are blowing moderately across the rice fields and banana plantation.  Yes, part of the race route was a road between a rice field and some banana trees!

At km#16, my watch reads 1hour and 40 minutes.  With 5 kms to go, I felt that I can have a sub-2:30 time to finish this race.  But to my surprise, at km#17, I started to feel a strong pain just above my ankles but below my calf muscles whenever I start to increase my pace.  I feared that this might be a start of leg cramps – but the signs were different and something new to me.

I had three attempts to increase my pace.  But after 10 meters, there will be a quick pain strike.  Since I decided to finish strong (read: running to the finish line), I had to do power walking between km#19 – km#20.

On the last stretch to the finish, I met Mr. Felipe Dumpit (aka Kinderdorf).  We had a short chat on the “challenges” we had during the race.

When I crossed the finish line, the clock read 2 hours, 52 minutes, and 12 seconds.   Maybe it was not a strong finish after all, but it will be a treasured experience!

All the aches and pains of running were gone once you get this 21km finishers medal

All the aches and pains of running were gone once you get this 21km finishers medal

Emilee and I haven’t celebrated our first year of joining road races.  Completing this 21k race is a fulfillment for us when we celebrate our 1st year of “competitive” running next month.

Still fresh after 21kms!

Still fresh after 21kms!

She enjoyed the race (with her I-pod, she can run a full marathon)!

She enjoyed the race (with her I-pod, she can run a full marathon)!

This was the 21km route!

This was the 21km route!

Emilee conquered this route!

Emilee conquered this route!

All of this will not happen without the blessings from the Almighty and the prayers and support (cheers) of our friends (Good news! Most of them are now into running!).

See you on the next road race!

Leave a comment